The thick & the thin

The thick & the thin

by Emily Sturgill

01/01/15

The thick & the thin

defines the mess we are in.

You always stand by me,

no matter how hard I

fall

from your graces.

Through the thin & the thick,

you always do catch me,

when I tumble then fall,

steadily crashing

busting into flames

before my mess hits the pavement

you have gotten me once again-

off the brick, the edges of lunacy

and the insane.

Through the good times and bad,

whether we are happy or sad,

through thick and through thin,

you are always one,

to cheer me on farther

to pass the finish line

to win

any race, when I bow down

breaking into pieces

shattering smile

broken in half

like an upside down clown.

You try to not judge me.

You simply stand there with nerve

and continue to love me.

Through the thin & the thin

look at the mess we are in!!

(dedicated to my hubby Dean)

Leave a Reply

