Awaken Freshly

Awaken Freshly-12/29/14

Emily Sturgill

i awaken way too early,

its just a fact of my bipolar story…

and my husband he sleeps

soundly.

as i awaken freshly.

wide awake-not enough sleep-

Wrestling with the morning

fighting with the Sun

telling it to go away

to leave me alone, scattered, messy

and undone.

Sometimes, the Secret Slumber is rather Elusive,

ghost-like, slippery, sneaking away

like a thief in the night.

Child-like, I have bad dreams

that disappear in the Sunlight.

Wishing I would-somehow-some-way

normalize

instead of fight the useless fight.

smashing

passion

into a garden of delight,

a garden of twilight,

a garden of no-light, a garden of darkness, a garden

which bears no fruit, except for one single red apple,

a serpent slipped me

and it weighs on me so heavily

like the burden

of all

femininity.

so I sit and stare,

and i awaken freshly

to dreams no longer

there.

 

Leave a Reply

