When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight:

When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight:

by Emily Sturgill, 11/13/14

When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight,

and the sun begins to sink

softly slowing it rolls

away shrinking in fear

from the Creature Wind

& the might of the chill

of Michigan’s November Twillight.

The Sun disappears into a Mist

of storm clouds and scattered snowflakes.

And yet the Moon, for her the time is just

not right.

Because, When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight,

For hours the Moon, herself too, remains hidden,

out of sight, and grayness covers everything.

The grayness of twilight, envelopes the Sky.

The Stars hide too because of the crisp

November chill to the Air.

And,  When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight,

you better hang onto your horses tightly,

you better take a deep breath & wait

as the Day becomes united

with the evening Sky,

and even the earliest Star twinkles upon

its own time frame

it glistens only with in

the limits of its very own

simple hourglass.

When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight

that is when the Poems finally appear

whispering their rambling murmurs

indirectly in my ear.

the words rattle,buzz, and hum

complete nonsense

making no sense to anyone else but me.

They are not an audible presence but rather

a shape-shifting ghost of a thought.

I reach out for the words

at my brains edges and grab them up

like fists full of dirt.

When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight

There is no better Muse

than the Kali Goddess with multiple arms

filled with twilight, nightfall, fading sunlight

disappearing Stars, a Self-conscious Sister Moon

and fist fulls of poems with edges

of dirt and roots

composed entirely of grass.

A sharpen spear, a skull with cross bones & a touch

of fear.

When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight

You better be careful.

You better be nice. Don’t tread on that water,

it’s turning to ice.

There is no better Muse,

then a warrior Goddess, with many caring hands

to curl up the world and carry her

like a token favor won

in a feverish struggle between

Kali the Mother Goddess

and Kali the Goddess of War.

When the Daytime is swallowed by the tongue of twilight

I close my eyes.

I open my heart.

I feel the breath of a dragon.

I feel the chill in the air.

I open my eyes

and I close up my heart

Kail is here with me

She guides me blindly

into the direction

of Art.

.57          Note:  This  image was downloaded off internet, I downloaded it only for personal use-like a background image or screensaver- I have no copy write to this image- this is NOT one of my own Art pieces.

& unfortunately I misplaced what site or artist made this. I only am “borrowing” image because it is so very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

