Stigma sneaks in…

Having a SMI
is not an easy life.
SMI stand for Serious Mental Illness

Sometimes people, even our
so called “friends”
do not have the strength
or reasoning to understand.

And that’s the point of
No return.
That’s where
Stigma sneaks in.

Like a thief in the night
Like darkness or blight
Like a shadow in the brightest
possible light….?

that is where
Stigma sneaks in.

Many are concerned
with mental health
especially when its
happening to others

around us, but just not US.

Sometimes people would
much rather be blind
than search for a light.
than search for some hope,
in the darkest of night.

So that is where
Stigma sneaks in.
Turning Friend against Friend.

Coloring the daily news
with reports of violent
“mentally ill” criminals
Coloring the minds

of everyone we know
making them think
at any moment,
like ticking time bombs,
we will blow.

I’ve lost a few friends
maybe someone you know?
Due to my illness, my differences,
the parts of myself
I dare not to show.

But still they are there.
The things that make me
different from you.

And that’s the point of
No return.
That’s where
Stigma sneaks in.

Like a thief in the night
Like darkness or blight
Like a shadow in the brightest
possible light….?

that’s where Stigma sneaks in.
that’s where friendships end,
due to ignorance and fear.

there’s nothing I can say
or do to change your mind
we already have been through
this all before.

you say its not my illness
but I do not believe you
anymore.

2 thoughts on “Stigma sneaks in…

  1. Thank you. I was very upset & angry when I wrote this. It helped me to write it down and get it onto the computer.If I can even paint a small picture of what it is like living with mental illness..I have bipolar which is tough but even those who only have depression or anxiety, panic attacks, PTSD…all these illnesses are misunderstood. People make the wrong assumptions when they learn you have these things. It is the worst discrimination-it crosses ethnicity, race, income levels-it affects young old poor or rich-anybody. So difficult when people mistreat you due to these things you cannot change or help. You are just born this way.

Leave a Reply

