Our first date

Our first date-
by Emily Sturgill
5/17/14

The first time
we met
you swore we had
met before.
(but I did not recall it.)

That first night,
fate intervened
on my behalf

as something nagged at me-
begged me to ask You…

For a ride home?

You were dripping and covered in tattoos
( I thought what a cute-tattooed boy!)
I thought for sure,

that You – maybe You were,
the strong silent type?
Oh, how wrong I was.

As I stepped into your car
you engaged me in
conversation so delightful.

We really hit it off-
and that happened fourteen years ago.
I needed you then.
I still need you now,
You are always,
my best friend.

Husband.
Lover,
Companion,
There is no Other.

Leave a Reply

