Landslide by Emily Sturgill

Landslide 1/21/13

Its like a landslide,

of a troubled mind.

Is like a mudslide, a pent up hurricane, a torrent

of icy rain-this,this ,this,-Feeling.

A feeling buried so deep inside-

that I must-I must-I have to try.

I gotta make something-something-something-

all brand new.

A piece of art, or a slice of poetry, some sorta collage

something rich and vast,

in personal history.

I gotta, gotta, gotta-make some art-

if its the last thing I do. Its desperate this feeling, this urge,

to create something, anything,at all-

to reach into the void

and create something out of nothing-no,

nothing at all.

i must make some art.

I must do it quick-

before my mind has time-

to flip that switch,

and the creativity leaves me-like

in a landslide-it will disappear quick,

I must make something, something all brand new,

something wounderous and pretty-

or monsterious and ugly-it does not matter.

All the art is built up deep inside,

it needs to come out.

A piece of art, or a slice of poetry, some sorta collage

something rich and vast,

in personal history.

I gotta, gotta, gotta-make some art-

if its the last thing I do. Its desperate this feeling, this urge,

to create something, anything,at all-

to reach into the void.

CAM00347 My basement Art Studio.CAM00342 CAM00344Those are Artists helpers #1 and #2.

CAM00335 16x 20, mixed media on canvas, Body & Soul, by Emily Sturgill, 2013.

 

Leave a Reply

