Play me

Play me very carefully.

Play me like,

the broken fiddle I’ve become.

Use both hands to strum,

broken strings, into uneven chords.

A malady of a melody

that I have become.

Play me very carefully

like the hollowed drum.

Pound on my back,

until I thump and boom.

Be careful whatever way you play.

Play me like the electric guitar

smashed on a sound-stage in front

of screaming fans.

Play me like a broken fiddle,

tighten my strings

take me in for repairs,

I’ll be yours to play tomorrow,

I’ll be there good as new,

for forever and a day,

and a dream to come true.

Like a malady of a melody

that I have become.

Play me very carefully,

so I do not,

become undone.

3 thoughts on “Play me

Leave a Reply

