Courage, I thought I lost you.

Courage, I thought I lost you.

Each time I would peer into the mirror,

just briefly-horrified by this creature of me.

Slowly, I began to evolve.

My outside appearance had not changed-

yet my reaction to Her did.

The woman lost beneath this mirrors edge.

So softly, so slowly, I began  to peal away

years of mistrust,

years of disgust.

No more can I

shame her.

Instead I must try my damnest

to accept and even love Her.

I must be brave and learn to smile

again at a reflection

which tells no lies.

Courage, I thought I lost you

but you were here with me and Her too

beneath a wall

of reflection

and hesitation.

Leave a Reply

