Too cliche

All

the good ideas,

ran out yesterday.

How do I spin, something real, something poignant

and true?

It’s like spinning thread-

into gold.

It either works by Magic-

or you are in the wrong fairy tale altogether.

Mother cupboard-

her cupboard is bare, it’s barren, infertile.

bare to the bones-

bare to the touch.

All the good ideas ran out yesterday.

Once i dared, to stick out my hand

BUT in the end, the cliches stampeded me-

to the punchline.

Saving grace,

saving face

saying very little or anything,

original at all!

The purpose of

the poem itself-escapes me,

it eludes me-

it dislikes me.

As I go after it-chasing after it-like a rabid dog,

and nipping at its heels.

–All the good ideas ran out yesterday.

5 thoughts on “Too cliche

Leave a Reply

