The Ground

Settling in steady

beneath my skin

and I begin.

I close both eyes

and imagine my bed beneath me.

The floor beneath the bed.

The ceiling beneath the floor.

The downstairs living room.

Which holds many secrets and stories still

to tell. Beneath all that resides the floor,

which If i travel deeper-

supports our basement ceiling.

Inside that ceiling hides one of our favorite cats.

Beyond that another floor, under which is the cold cold ground.

I close my eyes and reach for that space.

I spread out both legs and imagine

all the way down to the Earth below

the cold cold ground.

And my feet become tangles of roots, among branches,

then my eyes picture the bright blue skies.

All is above.

All is below.

Settling into a feeling of serenity.

Imagining positive light and all the things

that bring us together;

into one single race/

The Human One.

 

4 thoughts on “The Ground

Leave a Reply

