Poetry Junkie

Hi my name is Emily with a ‘Y’,

and I am a Poetry Addict.

I cannot stop writing them,

and really it’s becoming no fun.

I’m addicted to the words,

especially the verbs-

-the crunchy kind.

I’m shifty and slightly,

untrustworthy;

especially around word games,

like scrabble.

I’m sure to cheat, throw in a personal-pronoun,

I’m in way too deep.

And there are words, literally

everywhere.

I look and I cannot,

get away fast enough!

I am a poetry addict,

one or two poems, a day-

is never enough.

Some I would suppose-

would doubt my sincerity.

Some I would suppose-

would doubt my sanity.

Some I would suppose would just

assume its harmless fun.

But I become ruthless and ravenous,

when I’m around words,

I cannot help myself.

2 thoughts on “Poetry Junkie

Leave a Reply

