Never get out of these blues…

Never get out of these blues-4/12/14
by Emily Sturgill

Listening to John Lee Hooker, singing that, he’ll,
“never get out of these blues alive.” and I am jamming to old music on my MP3 player.

Wishing to become,
somebody easier-
less undone.

Wishing to capture
My Muse,
who mystifies me.

Wishing to capture,
yet another
poem-song into my teeth.

Trying to take a bite,
out of a word
that sounds right.

But they glide on,
right by me,
the words;
do not stay or settle.

they frenzy-fight
skirmming off the margins
skipping off the pages.

Dancing as I struggle,
with writers block-
words they tease me,
and then they flee.

Free to leave me
empty. Never get out of these blues-Alive.

Leave a Reply

